“I just finished reviewing Top Students/Top Parents, by Kathleen Burns.  What a breath of fresh air!  With all the reform legislation currently being enacted at the state level, I find this book to be extremely timely and informative.   Educators are fully aware of the key role parents must play if we are to be successful in educating their children.  Ms Burns has managed to capture the essence of their role offering hundreds of ideas on how to be top parents.  The belief that all children can be successful is the basis for this book, based on a wealth of educational research and years of experience. Anyone wishing to know what to do and when with their child simply has to access this manual."

Henry C. Roman, Ed.D., Executive Director, South Central BOCES, Superintendent of Schools for District No. 60, District No. 70 and Hanover School District

"This is a wonderful book that shows you how to set up your children for lifelong success. I have personally practiced Kathleen's ideas on my own children, and taught these ideas to five million parents in 46 languages and 72 countries."

Brian Tracy, World Famous Author of Psychology of Achievement, Seminar Leader

"If babies could be born with instructional manuals, the Bible should be in one hand and Top Students - Top Parents, in the other!  This comprehensive book is organized, affirming, and covers every topic a parent needs to begin a life-long learning journey for their children.  The guidebook is full of ideas and practical applications with enough statistics to back up the research without being dry or boring.  I've already ordered the first eight copies for my children as an investment into my grandchildren."

Vicki A. Brady, author of The Basic Steps to Successful Homeschooling and Quiet Moments for Homeschool Moms and Dads, Former host of National Radio Broadcast, Homeschooling USA! 

"This book did wonders to the way I think about how I can help my children academically and developmentally. I have a two-year-old and a six-year-old, and this book was exactly what I needed to allow me to see what I can do for them and how this will make a difference. I loved that it included fun activities and was really easy to follow. My six-year-old is in preschool, and I already felt like he was behind where he should be. This book helped me realize what I can do to help him and my younger child! I now see that both my children have a thirst for learning, I just needed to find out what they wanted to learn about."

Deb M., Amazon Reviewer, Mom of 2

"As a parent who works hard to understand the learning style of her two very different kiddos, this book is very insightful. I think exploring how our children best assimilate this world is something too often overlooked."

Meredith Spidel, Amazon Reviewer, Owner of blog The Mom of the Year

"I learned a great deal from Kathleen’s thorough and informative guide on how to raise thoughtful, intelligent, well-adjusted children. More than anything, I now understand that every moment of day-to-day parenting is an opportunity to nurture, encourage questioning/learning, or set a positive example. It doesn’t matter whether you buy the most highly-rated games or gadgets for your child or what fancy academy you send them to for schooling or daycare. What really makes the difference in their comprehension of words or how they learn acceptable behavior is that they receive stimulation and encouragement regarding these concepts from parents and other family members throughout the day, every day."

Kasey Clark, Amazon Reviewer

"In short, this book is a "one-stop shop" for everything you need to know to help your young children develop good learning skills and good health. It's very comprehensive, yet not heavy going at all because it's so well-written and because the subject matter is presented in such an interesting way. I highly recommend this excellent volume!"

Jan O., Amazon Reviewer

"I found this book to be tremendously helpful and motivating in my quest to support my kids become the best that they can be. There were a lot of real-time examples of how to help a child reach their potential. “Top Students, Top Parents” even goes as far as including easy to follow dialogues to follow when you speak to your very young children. I like how Burns really emphasizes how the best gifts we can give our children have nothing to do with money. It is about giving out time, our language, our attention, and our example to give our kids the best start possible."

Jessica, Amazon Reviewer

"This would make a perfect gift for any parent. A wonderful example of learning from many standout essays by experts flawlessly written to grab the reader, the parent, the educator.

 

Simply put this is a very informative educational eye-opening wonderment of knowledge and perfect educational values."

Abraham Phillips, Amazon Reviewer, Showcasing Books

Growing up as a child, I always heard adults say that the reason why they did what they did when it came to raising their kids was because children don’t come with a handbook. I’m not saying that this is nor is it a substitute for one, but it is a great book to read if you’re not confident in the way you parent. As parents we often criticize other parenting skills because it’s not the way that we parent, but this book explains the reason why and how different parenting methods can be effective and that’s all we need. To be active and effective in our child’s lives. I love how this book guides you from the beginning stages of child development to the later stages of fully grown development and how to help the child evolve.I love how the book addresses several emotional and physical approaches to a child to make them feel loved and protected as they should be. There is a wrong way to parent but when there are things available like this book, as well as parenting classes and several other resources their is no excuse!!!!

Arganise  ( Amazon Sept. 2019 )

Legs

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Let the Table of Contents be Your Guide!

Reviewed in the United States on September 23, 2019

Verified Purchase

As a writer I so appreciate the organization of the book and the table of contents to follow because it is a big book with plenty of information. I use the table of contents to refer to whatever I want to look up any topic. As an educator I appreciate the writer’s education and experience as a resource. As a parent I see some of the problems the author prepares the reader/parent for and some problems I was not aware of. I also saw that I could have handled somethings differently! I love that she presents a problem/situation and then gives a great deal of information that does not have loose ends. I no longer have children, but I have family members and friends that do so I am going to refer them to this great book before of its wonderful organization, examples, and references

Natalie

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and heartwarming!

Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2019

Verified Purchase

Although I haven’t reared any children myself as someone hopeful of such a feat I found this book quite insightful! Burns is very thorough as she is discussing the different stages in a child’s life and the obstacles they will have to overcome. Being an educator and a parent really lends to her credibility and is reflected in her writing. The section on bullying was probably the most helpful to me. With it being so rampant these days it was great to glean some perspective so that I may help my nieces or nephews or even my own children some day. There are cute jokes in the back I can’t wait to try out on the wee ones and her stance on hugs absolutely made my day.

V C

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide for parents, grands, and in-between

Reviewed in the United States on September 20, 2019

Verified Purchase

We often hear a child's brain compared to a sponge. It soaks up a ton of information (both positive and negative). With that said, Top students, top parents… further drives home that theory. In fact, a child’s brain is most susceptible between its first eight and eighteen months. As a parent of a now 8 year old, I paid close attention to what Burns had to say. I can confidently say that Burns had much to discuss in the book regarding the topic of a child’s educational development.
I was deeply surprised that the book suggests the need to have kids visit the library. I can still remember the joys of going to the library as a child myself and having to learn and use the Dewey Decimal System to locate my favorite book series (which happened to be Artemis Fowl). Nowadays, this is a level of excitement that few children get to enjoy despite it being totally free. Libraries allow for endless opportunities such as career advancement, life skills, and entertainment, of course. In some libraries, children can even rent entire video game systems! Burns was spot on in this assessment and recommendation to encourage and facilitate a familiarity with the local library.

As you can see, there is a WIDE range of topics discussed. This includes reasonable levels of both punishments and awards as well. Another hot topic is bullying. Of course, there will always be the challenge of discovering the best way to deal with a child who is bullied. On the other hand, what if your child is the bully? Burns emphasizes prevention first and how to handle it when the issue is already present.

Overall, this guide is a must-have for anyone that places a high value on a child's education. This applies to, not only parents, but grandparents, teachers, or anyone who takes a hands-on approach to the rearing of children. I can definitely see this being a required reading in any childhood educational degree program. Burns set out to validate the theory that the most critical years of a person’s mental growth occur within a very small window. With Top students, top parents…, the writer was able to accomplish her goal effortlessly and in a digestible format.

KosseMoore

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Great and Unique Read

Reviewed in the United States on September 24, 2019

Verified Purchase

The study of parenthood is fluid and ever-changing because of its highly personalized nature. Every parent has a different parenting style but Burns's writing creates an equalizer for parents across the board. She includes cliches like special attention to education and past time activities but also brings new ideas to the table. An ideology of the author that particularly struck me was the idea of parents being educated as well as the children. Burns emphasizes that parents need to create an environment that supports education because they are a child's first teacher and living in an environment that does not support education makes learning very difficult. Burns is a gifted writer because she does not only use quotes and research to back up her theories but she gives advice in a narrative style. The advice to parents is told like a story to a reader and I find it effective because it makes it an easy read and one that is seemless to register and apply to one's life. There have been many parenting books and there will be more to come, but this one will stand out because of its unique advice and narrative method of explanation.

asmir678

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Inquiry into a comofortable life

Reviewed in the United States on January 18, 2020

Verified Purchase

I thoroughly enjoyed this book's discussion on the qualifications and requirements of a merited student. It also involved dynamics beyond the student and his environment, but also his relationship with his guardians and parents/teachers as well. I enjoyed the cohesiveness regarding the author's intention to guide and assist seeking and dutiful parents who are interested in cultivating this side within their child's learning schedule. Parents often assume the best guide to test taking or to just school in general has to do with material things, such as the finest pencils/pens and journals. This book emphasizes the opposite, and offers the reader positive, nurturing alternatives one can pursue.

In this age of social media, bullying has become a topic as prevalent as before, in fact its gone to become more subtle in the eyes of non-students. This book offers work and readings gauge to understand student bullying and ways you, as a guardian, can prevent it.

jewelle

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Informative! Good read!

Reviewed in the United States on September 29, 2019

This was a very thoughtful read. It really gets in depth with different topics that are current with today. It goes through how to handle children and technology and strategies on the appropriate ways for children to use technology. They also get into appropriate television usage. The book gets into correct grammar usage with children, and the stress against baby talk! We’re all inclined to make cutesy noises when we see a baby, but reading more made me realize that baby talk isn’t always helpful long-term to teach the child how to speak properly.
The book also brings in scientific studies in a lot of its chapters, which I appreciate some factual background with each topic. Very insightful and informative. New parents could find this book very useful to learn more about their childs development. I think all parents should read this book and they could possibly learn some new information. I also like how the end of the book had child-friendly jokes!

Jewelle

Delayen Weeden

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blueprint

Reviewed in the United States on October 2, 2019

Verified Purchase

This book really shows you how to tap into your chids inner greatness. I've been wanting some guidance on how to help my daughter with some school issues. Since reading the book and applying the strategies her performance has greatly improved. Its a great book showing parents how to take their kids from where they are, to where God intended them to be. Its a must read

Agnes Musee

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Must have for parents

Reviewed in the United States on September 18, 2019

Verified Purchase

I've always had anxiety on how to guide my kids and give them the tools that lead to the success they deserve. This guide definitly helped a lot in how I could tap into my kids creativity and thirst for learning. I no longer have to struggle to get them to study or try new things when it comes educational extra curricular activities. This is a must have for all parents.

Leelee

 

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever

Reviewed in the United States on September 23, 2019

Verified Purchase

The book was very informative with good tips for helping anyone children become all they can be.
I used tips in the book to help motivate all my kids to be the best they can be in life. I love
that book discussed language development from infancy to preschool. Language is very
important to all my kids.

TeaandBooks

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book for parents of young children

Reviewed in the United States on November 2, 2019

If you have young children, you probably want to do all you can to help your child be an academic success. Kathleen Burns in Top Students Top Parents offers a whole lot of advice on helping you help your child(ren) be a success.

Burns begins Top Students Top Parents by sharing her experience as a teacher and a mother and grandmother. She divides this book in to three sections: Laying the Foundation for Success In Infancy and Above, Reading and Writing, and School Success. As the sub-title states, Good Students are made at Home. . .Not at School, according to Burns. Throughout this book, she shares advice and activities to do at home to help your child be a success in nearly every area. She encourages parents to start while the child is quite young. She backs up her advice with findings and research that she has gleaned from.

Top Students and Top Parents would best be read by young parents in order to get the most benefit from the book. However, there are helpful hints, tips and advice for all ages in the book. I think if you have a "normal" child, you will benefit most from this book. I say that because some of the research she shares in this book doesn't quite fit with my son who is high-functioning autistic. With more children being diagnosed with special needs every day, I do wish she had a section that applied to them and their parents. I did still find a lot of helpful advice. We have had our child in public school and have home-schooled and this book would be helpful for parents doing either one. I liked how the book was organized and that it was so easy to follow. I also liked the list of fun books to read to children in the back of the book. Also, Burns includes a fun section full of dinosaur jokes which would be a lot of fun for younger children and parents. Again, I would most recommend this book to parents with young children. Most of the advice is geared to parents with children that are infants through grade 6 so that you can build a good, solid educational foundation.

I received a copy of this book from the author and publisher. All opinions are my own.

W M

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Top Students, Top Parents - Good read

Reviewed in the United States on September 23, 2019

This was an interesting read about the critical importance of early child development. There is a lot of good information in here and it is a wellspring of knowledge for expecting or new parents. I was surprised by how early the critical formation starts (8 months!) and lasts. What was not surprising is knowing that having a lot of books in the home makes a big difference in a child's vocabulary or IQ, and or that it is super important for children to physically play outside or even inside instead of being in front of TV/tablet/mobile screens. This book stresses the importance of exploration in education, and fostering curiosity in children through their entire childhood. In case you are wondering if this is just another general parenting guide, this book includes many academic citations and helpful studies to back up claims, and examples of activities or conversations you can have with your child, and covers difficult topics like discipline and bullying. All in all a very informative read that was very easy to understand

Rosey

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Full of Insight and Help!

Reviewed in the United States on September 18, 2019

This book is great and I think every parent should read it. As an educator and a mom, for many years, I still came across a lot of valuable information that I took to heart and have already started to apply at home (and in the classroom).

Rhonda L

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Great for parents and want to be parents!

Reviewed in the United States on September 27, 2019

This here is a must read for every parent or want to be parent. Great, simple, practical tips of great things to instill in your child to help you raise some fantastic human beings. It’s an easy read and a must have!

Have a question for Kathleen? Submit it here for a personal response!

© 2019 Strategies PR. Proudly created with Wix.com